Below you can see answers to the most frequently asked questions about our tours. We will be happy to answer any further questions you may have!


Is navigation dangerous?

Does navigation require any physical training or special skills?

May I and will I participate in the ship handling?

Is it possible to stay with a child?

Can I choose the place of the navigation?

What about the feeding service on board?

Will I have seasick?

How are a shower and a toilet organized on board?

What are the most important things to take with you on a cruise?

How many days do cruises last?

What about sleeping accommodations?

Do you provide visa support?

Do I need to arrange special insurance for a cruise?

Can I book a hotel before, after or even during the cruise?

 

Is navigation dangerous?

Navigation at sea requires a serious attitude and can carry some risk if you treat it carelessly.

That is why your safety is a top priority for your skipper, who was trained in the school of navigation with special emphasis on the secure access to the sea. This leads to the choice of the ship and cruise program, adapted to the access to the sea in certain weather conditions. Also, the skipper takes the right to cancel the port exit if weather conditions are unfavorable for this. In addition, before the start of the cruise the guests will be instructed on safety aboard, it will allow the participants to feel confident during the entire cruise. Following the instructions from the skipper ensures your total safety on board.

 Does navigation require any physical training or special skills?

Navigation does not require from the members of our cruises any special physical effort. At the same time, sailing is still a sport, and even if you do not participate in the maneuvers, it would be better to have a minimum physical training. Naturally, the program of the cruise will be fully adapted to fit your training and will require a minimum of physical effort, so you can fully enjoy your staying.

 May I and will I participate in the ship handling?

The skipper is solely responsible for the course of the vessel and navigation. However, if you wish to participate in the management of the vessel (sailing, lifting and adjusting the sails) or navigation (GPS, mapping a route), the skipper will gladly teach you and explain how to act. Also, the skipper may need your help when entering / leaving ports (training will be provided prior to the cruise), especially during the summer when it will be difficult for the skipper to handle the ship alone. Moreover, we can offer adapted programs with an emphasis on seamanship to those who want to learn navigation.

 Is it possible to stay with a child?

Children aged 5 years and upward are accepted on board. The presence of a child does not require any special changes on board, with the exception of food. For a comfortable sailing in the Antilles a protective net will be provided (optional).

 Can I choose the place of the navigation?

We offer basic programs in the Mediterranean in summer and in the Antilles in winter, but we can also arrange a cruise anywhere in the world according to the season. If you have specific wishes about the direction, we will be happy to send you a proposal for a program and itinerary.

 What about the feeding service on board?

The hostess and the skipper will take care of all the preparation of food on board. However, if you wish to participate, it is possible and our team will be happy to teach everyone the art of cooking ‘à la francaise’.

 Will I have seasick?

Motion sickness occurs because of a sensory conflict, when the inner ear, the eyes and other parts of the body send contradictory signals to the brain. Thus one part of the vestibular system detects that the body is in motion, while the other part does not recognize it.

Our programs and navigation period (from 2 to 3 hours in the morning and from 2 to 3 hours in the afternoon) are designed in such a way that will allow you as soon as possible to get used to the course of the ship, as well as allow you to avoid motion sickness.

Some factors (cold, lack of sleep, excessive drinking the night before, and hunger) increase the risk of motion sickness. The skipper will explain to you how to avoid sea sickness or in the case of symptoms, advise the appropriate medication.

 How are a shower and a toilet organized on board?

Our vessel is equipped with a shower and a WC. During stops in ports, the use of the WC is prohibited; you will be able to use the WC service in the building of the port.

 What are the most important things to take with you on a cruise?

Windbreaker, special shoes (or sneakers), warm clothing (evenings can be cool), headgear, sunglasses, sunscreen...

Upon booking, you will receive a complete list of needed items.

 How many days do cruises last?

We organize cruises according to your wishes. These programs may last from 2 to 14 days. We recommend you to book a program from 7 to 14 days, that will allow you to adapt better and feel the specifics of a sailing trip, to enjoy your cruise and feel like a real sailor.

 What about sleeping accommodations?

It depends on the number of participants in the cruise, as well as their wishes for the distribution of beds (single occupancy, double occupancy, accommodation in the main cabin, etc.). Before departure, we will offer you all the options of accommodation and depending on your choice, the most suitable vessel will be determined.

 Do you provide visa support?

We do not do a visa, but we will provide you with all the documents proving your stay on board the vessel required to obtain a visa.

For cruises in the Antilles one must obtain a special visa (outside the Schengen Union), the duration of the visa receiving may take about 3 weeks.

 Do I need to arrange special insurance for a cruise?

The skipper and the hostess already have liability insurance.

You need to have a specific sport travel insurance (2-3 euros per day).

The vessel will also be insured in advance. However, you must provide a deposit (about 4000 euros), which will be returned at the end of the cruise. This deposit can be used to cover the damage provoked by the customer (intentional damage to the ship, negligence that led to the failure of the vessel).

 Can I book a hotel before, after or even during the cruise?

We can offer you our services for booking hotels at any stage.

MISE A JOUR IMPORTANTE :SIMEON VOYAGES évolue et devient ODYSSAILING.

Bonne visite sur notre nouveau site www.odyssailing.com

Les questions que vous vous posez sur nos séjours trouveront une réponse dans cette rubrique. Si vous avez d’autres questions, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter, nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous renseigner au mieux.

Naviguer, est-ce dangereux ?

Naviguer nécessite-t-il une condition physique ou des compétences particulières ?

Puis-je et vais-je participer au fonctionnement du bateau ?

Les enfants sont-ils admis à bord ?

Puis-je choisir ma zone de navigation ?

Vais-je participer à la préparation des repas ?

Vais-je avoir le mal de mer ?

Comment cela se passe-t-il au niveau des douches et des toilettes ?

De quels effets personnels ai-je besoin ?

Combien de jours durent les séjours ?

Quelle est la répartition des couchages ?

Fournissez-vous les visas ?

Dois-je avoir une assurance spécifique pour les séjours ?

Puis-je réserver un hôtel avant, après, ou même pendant la croisière ?

 

Naviguer, est-ce dangereux ?

La navigation sur la mer est une activité qui doit être prise au sérieux et qui peut comporter certains risques pour les personnes non rigoureuses.

C’est pourquoi votre skipper, formé dans une école de voile qui met particulièrement l’aspect sur la sécurité, donne une priorité absolue à votre sécurité. Cela conditionne le choix du bateau et le programme de la croisière, conçue et adaptée le cas échéant en fonction des conditions météorologiques rencontrées. Ainsi, pour votre sécurité, le skipper s’octroie le droit de ne pas sortir du port si les conditions de vent sont ou risquent d’être trop fortes. Par ailleurs, au début de la croisière, le skipper vous fera un briefing sécurité afin de vous sensibiliser à tous les risques inhérents à la croisière, pour mieux les anticiper. Enfin, un respect des consignes par le skipper vous permettra d’être en parfaite sécurité.

Retour sommaire FAQ

Naviguer nécessite-t-il une condition physique ou des compétences particulières ?

Naviguer comme équipier ne nécessite pas d’entraînement physique spécifique. Néanmoins, la plaisance est considérée comme un sport et même sans participer aux manœuvres, et il est tout de même mieux d’arriver avec un minimum de condition physique. Par ailleurs, le programme sera de toute façon adapté en fonction des capacités du participant ayant le moins de condition physique et mentale, afin que chacun puisse passer un agréable séjour.

Les débutants complets sont naturellement les bienvenus à bord.

Retour sommaire FAQ

Puis-je et vais-je participer au fonctionnement du bateau ?

Le skipper a la responsabilité de la marche du voilier et de la navigation dans son intégralité. Toutefois, si vous souhaitez participer tant au fonctionnement du bateau (conduite à la barre, hissage et réglage des voiles) qu’à la navigation (point GPS, détermination de la route à suivre), le skipper se fera un plaisir de vous apprendre et vous expliquer comment.

Par ailleurs, une participation est demandée à l’équipage pour les manœuvres de port (une formation sera effectuée au début du séjour par le skipper), dans la mesure ou les manœuvres de port l’été en méditerranée sont difficiles à réaliser par le skipper seul.

Enfin, pour les personnes désireuses d’apprendre la navigation, le skipper vous proposera un programme adapté et centré sur l’apprentissage de la navigation.

Retour sommaire FAQ

Les enfants sont-ils admis à bord ?

Vos enfants sont les bienvenus à bord à partir de 6 ans.

La présence d’enfants à bord ne nécessite pas de configuration spécifique pour la navigation, à l’exception d’une brassière et d’une nourriture adaptées.  Pour vos séjours aux Antilles sur catamaran habitable, un filet de protection (en option) peut être installé.

Retour sommaire FAQ

Puis-je choisir ma zone de navigation ?

Nous proposons des formules principalement en méditerranée l’été et aux Antilles l’hiver, mais toute destination dans le monde est possible, en fonction de la saison. Si vous avez un souhait de destination précise, veuillez nous contacter afin que nous vous proposions un programme adapté à la période et à la zone de navigation.

Retour sommaire FAQ

Vais-je participer à la préparation des repas ?

Une hôtesse française et le skipper prépareront les repas. Néanmoins, nous nous ferons un plaisir de partager et d’apprendre à qui le souhaite la préparation d’un repas à la française.

Retour sommaire FAQ

Vais-je avoir le mal de mer ?

Le mal de mer est provoqué par les mouvements du bateau et le décalage entre les informations de mouvement fournies par le système vestibulaire et les informations visuelles.

Notre programme et la durée des navigations (environ 2 à 3 heures le matin, 2 à 3 heures l’après-midi) sont conçus de façon à vous amariner progressivement et en douceur et de vous faire éviter le mal de mer.

Certains facteurs (manque de sommeil, consommation excessive d’alcool la veille, faim, froid) augmentent les risques de mal de mer. Le skipper vous expliquera comment éviter le mal de mer et le cas échéant, vous conseillera des médicaments contre le mal de mer.

Retour sommaire FAQ

Comment cela se passe-t-il au niveau des douches et des toilettes ?

Nos bateaux disposent de douches et de WC marins. Lors des escales dans les ports, l’utilisation des WC étant interdite, des sanitaires sont mis à votre disposition par la capitainerie.

Retour sommaire FAQ

De quels effets personnels ai-je besoin ?

D’un coupe-vent, de chaussures de pont (ou baskets) adaptées, d’un pull-over (les soirées au mouillage peuvent être fraîches), chapeau, lunettes de soleil, crème solaire…

Lors de votre inscription, nous vous enverrons une liste complète des affaires indispensables et conseillées.

Retour sommaire FAQ

Combien de jours durent les séjours ?

Nous faisons des séjours selon vos disponibilités. Ceux-ci peuvent durer de 2 à 14 jours. Néanmoins, nous vous recommandons des séjours d’une ou deux semaines, ce qui vous permet de vous amariner, de profiter au maximum de votre séjour et de rentrer dans une dynamique de « marin ». 

Retour sommaire FAQ

Quelle est la répartition des couchages ?

Cela dépend du nombre de personnes ainsi que de l’agencement du bateau en termes de couchages (cabines simples ou doubles, couchages dans le carré…). Avant le séjour, nous vous proposerons une configuration des couchages, ce qui déterminera en partie le choix du bateau, et nous trouverons ensemble la meilleure configuration possible afin que tout le monde soit satisfait.

Retour sommaire FAQ

Dois-je avoir une assurance spécifique pour les séjours ?

Le skipper et l’hôtesse disposent d’une assurance.

Pour vous, une assurance spécifique « séjour sportif » est requise (2 à 3 euros par jour et par personne).

Le bateau est également assuré. Cependant, au début du séjour, une caution (environ 4000 euros) vous sera demandée et rendue en fin de séjour. Cette caution sera utilisée en cas de négligence grave de la part d’un client (bris intentionnel, négligence grave, imprudence manifeste causant un dommage au bateau).

Retour sommaire FAQ

Puis-je réserver un hôtel avant, après, ou même pendant la croisière ?

Nous pouvons très bien vous réserver un hôtel avant, après ou même pendant votre croisière. 

Retour sommaire FAQ